Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Let them eat chips! 10:48 - Nov 12 with 11342 viewsgueRRilla

Cameron, on a golden throne at a white tie banquet, calls for permanent austerity for the plebs.

You've just got to love the visuals!

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/david-cameron-insists-that-squeeze
Let them eat chips! on 13:34 - Nov 13 with 1623 viewsMrSheen

Let them eat chips! on 13:03 - Nov 13 by R_from_afar

I am in Berkshire, as it happens. I work in the private sector, my wife in the public sector, and she has done over 25 years.

"In the UK the average public sector pay has now overtaken the private sector" - Agreed, but I think you will find there is not a vast difference and what difference there is will not compensate public sector workers for the major impact on their pensions. To get the same pension she signed up for, my wife is having to make vastly increased contributions (so, to pay more), plus she will need to work several (I can't remember how many) years more.

You talk about "1 million extra jobs that the Country couldn't afford" - Let's see if they end up being the pointless jobs that you are implying. After all, who needs A&E departments? I well remember how the public railed against Labour's spending on health and education when they were in power.

Replacing Trident, £250m on extra bin collections, and HS2 are, on the other hand, an excellent use of money which we can afford. While we are talking about disproportionate spending, we spend a ridiculous amount on defence for a country of our size (fifth most in the world, from memory).

RFA