Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Unfair Prejudice against the Minority 21:31 - Oct 27 with 3633 viewsNookiejack

Apologies in advance - I have copied my post from another thread to create a new thread as think it is worth discussing. Sorry if bores people. I am also not a legal expert so if case law has developed which means following is out of date - please comment:-

Unfair prejudice

http://www.ashfords.co.uk/guide-to-unfair-prejudice-against-shareholders-(1)/

Test of Unfairness

The test as to what amounts to unfair prejudice is objective. It is not necessary for the petitioning shareholder to show that anybody acted in bad faith or with the intention of causing prejudice. The courts will regard the prejudice as unfair if a hypothetical reasonable bystander would believe it to be unfair.

Fairness is judged in the context of a commercial relationship, the contractual terms of which are, in the main, set out in the Articles of Association of the company and in any shareholders agreement. The starting point is therefore to ask whether the conduct of which the shareholder complains is in accordance with the Articles and the powers which the shareholders have entrusted to the board. In a Law Commission report it was said that "The best protection for a shareholder is appropriate protection in the articles themselves". Therefore, if the conduct is in accordance with the Articles, to which the shareholder has agreed, it will be more difficult to succeed with an unfair prejudice petition.

Even if the conduct is not in accordance with the Articles, it does not necessarily render the conduct unfair, as trivial or technical infringements of the Articles may not give rise to a remedy under s.994.

The Rights/Interests of the Shareholder must have been Prejudiced