Quantcast
Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Euros 17:40 - Jun 10 with 1238 viewsPinnerPaul

Just for info - 21/22 laws being used.

Only major change is the dreaded handball law. Full details below but the main change is that accidental handball by attackers is allowed as long as they themselves don't score.

New text
(…)
Not every touch of a player’s hand/arm with the ball is an offence.
It is an offence if a player:
• deliberately touches the ball with their hand/arm, for example moving the
hand/arm towards the ball
• touches the ball with their hand/arm when it has made their body unnaturally
bigger. A player is considered to have made their body unnaturally bigger
when the position of their hand/arm is not a consequence of, or justifiable by,
the player’s body movement for that specific situation. By having their hand/
arm in such a position, the player takes a risk of their hand/arm being hit by
the ball and being penalised
• scores in the opponents’ goal:
· directly from their hand/arm, even if accidental, including by the goalkeeper
· immediately after the ball has touched their hand/arm, even if accidental
Explanation
• Not every contact between the hand/arm and the ball is a handball offence.
• Referees must judge the ‘validity’ of the hand/arm’s position in relation to
what the player is doing in that particular situation.
• Accidental handball by a team-mate before a goal is scored and accidental
handball creating a goal-scoring opportunity have been removed as offences
0

Euros on 08:01 - Jun 11 with 954 viewsTheChef

I assume they're using VAR too?

Let the confusion and controversy begin!
0
Euros on 10:53 - Jun 11 with 812 viewswood_hoop

Euros on 08:01 - Jun 11 by TheChef

I assume they're using VAR too?

Let the confusion and controversy begin!


VAR will be used, so hope Grealish has been practising his amateur dramatics.

https://www.goal.com/en-kw/news/will-var-be-used-at-euro-2020/1g2jma8kpwka91jd5x
0

Euros on 12:41 - Jun 11 with 754 viewsPinnerPaul

Yes VAR will be there to clear up any controversy!
1

Euros on 12:32 - Jun 12 with 628 viewsNorthernr

And you can be offside from a corner now apparently.
0
Euros on 12:56 - Jun 12 with 602 viewsterryb

Euros on 12:32 - Jun 12 by Northernr

And you can be offside from a corner now apparently.


I think, like me, Clive that you missed that the corner taker was offside after the ball was passed back to him.

I thought originally that the player given offside didn't take the corner, but I was assured that he did.

It certainly wasn't as bad as when I saw, back in the '60's (a lifetime ago), the corner taker given offside when the ball was headed into the goal! The defenders didn't compete to win the header, but ran forward & offside was given by the corner flag. He must have been badly interfeering with the play at that distance away!
0
Euros on 12:57 - Jun 12 with 602 viewsstevec

Euros on 12:32 - Jun 12 by Northernr

And you can be offside from a corner now apparently.


Is that possible, the corner taker would be playing the ball back.
0

Euros on 13:49 - Jun 12 with 563 viewsBrianWilliamsBeard

The ball wasn't played back to the corner taker though. The corner was taken by Insigne to Berardi who played the ball back Jorginho. Then before Jorginho could play a pass the flag was raised.

I was going to ask PinnerPaul myself whether it was because Berardi was off the pitch when the corner was taken and re-entered to received the ball...

"An attacking player may step or stay off the field of play not to be involved in active play. If the player re-enters from the goal line and becomes involved in play before the next stoppage in play, or the defending team has played the ball towards the halfway line and it is outside its penalty area, the player shall be considered to be positioned on the goal line for the purposes of offside."

Does that over-ride the "can't be offside from a corner" rule?
0
Euros on 14:38 - Jun 12 with 529 viewsNorthernr

Euros on 12:57 - Jun 12 by stevec

Is that possible, the corner taker would be playing the ball back.


Here’s the clip. I’ve seen all sorts of suggestions. I think it’s a Lino mistake.

0
Login to get fewer ads


Euros on 14:46 - Jun 12 with 515 viewsGloryHunter

Is there a separate Wales - Switzerland thread? Or am I the only one watching it?
0
Euros on 14:52 - Jun 12 with 507 viewskensalriser

Euros on 14:46 - Jun 12 by GloryHunter

Is there a separate Wales - Switzerland thread? Or am I the only one watching it?


I think everyone's nodded off.

Poll: QPR to finish 7th or Brentford to drop out of the top 6?

0
Euros on 14:59 - Jun 12 with 493 viewsterryb

Euros on 14:38 - Jun 12 by Northernr

Here’s the clip. I’ve seen all sorts of suggestions. I think it’s a Lino mistake.



I will have to have words with my son who told me that the corner had already been taken!

Definitely a mistake from the man with the flag!
0
Euros on 15:36 - Jun 12 with 455 viewsTW_R

Euros on 14:38 - Jun 12 by Northernr

Here’s the clip. I’ve seen all sorts of suggestions. I think it’s a Lino mistake.



Isn’t it because he was off the pitch when the corner was taken Clive?

As per the above:-

"An attacking player may step or stay off the field of play not to be involved in active play. If the player re-enters from the goal line and becomes involved in play before the next stoppage in play, or the defending team has played the ball towards the halfway line and it is outside its penalty area, the player shall be considered to be positioned on the goal line for the purposes of offside."
2
Euros on 12:57 - Jun 14 with 296 viewsPinnerPaul

Euros on 15:36 - Jun 12 by TW_R

Isn’t it because he was off the pitch when the corner was taken Clive?

As per the above:-

"An attacking player may step or stay off the field of play not to be involved in active play. If the player re-enters from the goal line and becomes involved in play before the next stoppage in play, or the defending team has played the ball towards the halfway line and it is outside its penalty area, the player shall be considered to be positioned on the goal line for the purposes of offside."


I'm with Clive. He IS 'considered to be on the goal line for position of offside", yes true, but he is perfectly entitled to receive the ball on the goal line from a corner.

Will check on REFChat for an explanation - if there is another one other than "lion" error.

Edit Clive right, AR wrong.
[Post edited 14 Jun 13:01]
0

Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
About Us Contact Us Terms & Conditions Privacy Cookies Advertising
© FansNetwork 2021