Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Dale Hat Tricks - the definitive list
Dale Hat Tricks - the definitive list
Wednesday, 26th Mar 2008 06:38

Following on from Chris Dagnall's hat trick on Monday, we've scoured the archives to bring you the definitive list of Dale Hat Tricks throughout our history.

In scoring the hat trick, Dagnall became the first player since Reg Jenkins to have scored two hat tricks for the club, as well as a whole host of other "firsts". 

But you can tell from the table below, that way out in front in terms of scoring hat tricks is Albert Whitehurst. He scored an astonishing ten hat tricks in his time at Dale between 1923 and 1928. This is made to look even better when you consider that Reg Jenkins only scored four in his time at Dale.

Colours separate different decades, and it doesn't take much to realise that we had a bit of a barren spell in the 1980's. Mickey French was our sole hat trick scorer in the 1980's, when he bagged all three against Hereford in 82-83 season. In fact, those statistics get worse, for we had just two hat tricks to celebrate in just under twenty one years. Certainly makes it look like we have had a glut of them in recent years in comparison.

Four Dale players have been unlucky enough to have scored hat tricks and finished on the losing side. Whilst on three occasions have more than one Dale player achieved a hat trick in the same game.

Chris Dagnall Rotherham (h) 4-1 24th March 2008
Adam Le Fondre Accrington (h) 4-1 16th March 2008
David Perkins Chesterfield (a) 4-3 16th January 2008
Chris Dagnall Macclesfield Town (h) 5-0 21st April 2007
Gareth Griffiths Scarborough (h) 4:1 28th September 2004
Paul Connor Carlisle United (h) 6-0 10th April 2001
Andy Morris Chester City (h) 3-1 17th April 1999
Paul Moulden Darlington (h) 5-2 24th October 1995
Jamie Taylor Hartlepool Utd (h) 4-0 26th August 1995
Dave Lancaster Northampton (h) 6-2 1st January 1994
Andy Flounders Lincoln (h) 5-1 19th December 1992
Andy Milner Hereford (h) 502 5th May 1990
Mickey French Hereford (h) 4-1 12th March 1983
Chris Jones Northampton (h) 3-2 26th October 1979
Hugh Riley Brighton (h) 3-3 16th January 1971
Dennis Butler Halifax (a) 4-1 26th December 1970
Reg Jenkins Halifax (h) 5-0 30th March 1970
Tony Buck Bristol Rovers (a) 3-3 27th September 1969
Terry Melling Bradford Park Ave (a) 4-1 11th January 1969
Reg Jenkins Grimsby Town (h) 6-1 4th January 1969
Reg Jenkins Fleetwood (h) 5-0 17th November 1966
Reg Jenkins Chester (h) 3-0 5th November 1966
Frank Lord Hartlepools Utd (h) 4-0 3rd October 1960
Stan Milburn Barrow (h) 4-1 22nd September 1959
Jim Dailey Stockport (h) 3-0 1st February 1958
Jim Dailey * Hartlepools United (h) 7-0 2nd November 1957
Dave Pearson ** Halifax Town (h) 5-1 28th September 1957
Frank Lord Hull City (h) 4-3 5th March 1957
Frank Lord Southport (h) 6-1 16th February 1957
Frank Lord Wrexham (h) 6-2 13th February 1954
Jack Haines Crewe Alex (h) 4-1 5th December 1953
Harry Whitworth Barrow (h) 6-2 7th March 1953
Ray Haddington Darlington (h) 3-1 27th December 1952
Bert Foulds Bradford City (a) 3-0 27th September 1952
Alan Middlebrough Darlington (h) 6-2 28th August 1951
Jack Connor Shrewsbury Town (h) 5-0 5th September 1950
Jack Livesey Mansfield Town (h) 7-1 4th March 1950
Jack Livesey Gateshead (a) 3-1 17th December 1949
Tommy Barkas Accrington (h) 5-1 24th May 1947
Billy Woods Hartlepools Utd (h) 6-1 14th December 1946
Joe Hargreaves Carlisle Utd (h) 6-0 28th September 1946
Jimmy Wynn Halifax Town (h) 4-5 18th February 1939
Peter Vause York City (a) 7-0 14th January 1939
Jimmy Wynn Darlington (h) 6-1 8th October 1938
Jimmy Wynn York City (a) 5-0 1st January 1938
Wally Hunt New Brighton (h) 4-0 14th November 1936
Len Clarke Gateshead (h) 5-0 14th December 1935
Len Clarke New Brighton (h) 3-1 15th December 1934
Tony Weldon Walsall (h) 3-3 17th March 1934
Jack Robson York City (h) 3-6 20th February 1934
Tom Watson ** York City (a) 6-2 3rd September 1932
Harry Lewis Doncaster (h) 3-5 15th November 1930
Tommy Tippett *** Hartlepools Utd (a) 8-2 21st April 1930
Tommy Tippett Lincoln City (h) 3-4 8th April 1930
George Stott Wrexham (h) 5-4 1st February 1930
Billy Bertram ** Barrow (h) 6-1 19th October 1929
Jack Milson Ashington (h) 5-0 5th January 1929
John Brierley ** Hartlepools (h) 7-4 8th December 1928
Albert Whitehurst ** Chesterfield (h) 5-1 25th February 1928
Albert Whitehurst ** Crook Town (h) 8-2 26th November 1927
Joe Clennell Crook Town (h) 8-2 26th November 1927
Albert Whitehurst Ashington (h) 5-0 5th March 1927
Albert Whitehurst Durham City (a) 3-1 22nd January 1927
Albert Whitehurst Lincoln City (h) 7-3 25th December 1926
Albert Whitehurst * Chesterfield (h) 8-1 18th December 1926
Albert Whitehurst Doncaster Rovers (h) 7-2 6th November 1926
Harry Martin Doncaster Rovers (h) 7-2 6th November 1926
Albert Whitehurst Southport (a) 7-1 10th April 1926
Harry Anstiss Southport (a) 7-1 10th April 1926
Billy Bertram Doncaster Rovers (h) 4-1 3rd April 1926
Albert Whitehurst Barrow (h) 5-1 28th April 1925
Albert Whitehurst New Brighton (h) 6-2 1st March 1924
John Hall Skelmersdale (h) 4-0 17th November 1923
George Guy Wrexham (h) 5-0 23rd September 1922
Reg Owens Walsall (h) 7-0 24th December 1921
Reg Owens Accrington (h) 6-3 27th August 1921

* = scored five goals in that game
**= scored four goals in that game
***= scored six goals in that game

Photo: Action Images

Please report offensive, libellous or inappropriate posts by using the links provided.

You need to login in order to post your comments

Rochdale Polls

About Us Contact Us Terms & Conditions Privacy Cookies Advertising
© FansNetwork 2020