Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Theo Walcott Gets Old Squad Number Back As Saints Announce Squad Numbers
Wednesday, 7th Oct 2020 09:12

It is back to where it all began for Theo Walcott, not just in terms of Saints & St Mary's Stadium, but he will wear the same number as he wore in his first season at the club as a 16 year old back in 2005/06 season.

Saints have confirmed their squad numbers and have announced what numbers will be worn by their new signings.

Theo Walcott will return to the number 32 he wore in his first spell when he burst onto the scene as a 16 year old as Saints readjusted to life back in the 2nd tier of English football after relegation the previous season.

Wearing 32 he started 13 games and had another 8 off the bench in the Championship scoring 4 goals, he supplemented that with another couple of substitute appearances, one in each cup and scored a goal in what was his penultimate appearance for the club and his last game in a Saints shirt at St Mary's, an FA Cup 3rd round game against MK Dons which ended 4-3 to Saints. Theo coming on for Brett Ormerod on the hour mark and scoring 6 mins later.

His final game before he left for Arsenal was a week later at QPR, the game ended in a 1-0 defeat with Theo starting but unable to reduce that deficit.

Mohammed Salisu whom I'm assured does exist although strangely the club have said little about him so far since his arrival will wear 22, Ibrahima Diallo will wear 27 and Kyle Walker Peters will switch from his temporary number on loan last season to the number 2 shirt.

The full squad numbers are as follows, please double check with the club first if you are getting a shirt printed.

1. Alex McCarthy

2. Kyle Walker-Peters

3. Ryan Bertrand

4. Jannik Vestergaard

5. Jack Stephens

6. Oriol Romeu

7. Shane Long

8. James Ward-Prowse

9. Danny Ings

10. Ché Adams

11. Nathan Redmond

12. Moussa Djenepo

14. Michael Obafemi

17. Stuart Armstrong

18. Yan Valery

20. Will Smallbone

22. Mohammed Salisu

23. Nathan Tella

27. Ibrahima Diallo

28. Angus Gunn

29. Jake Vokins

32. Theo Walcott

35. Jan Bednarek

41. Harry Lewis

44. Fraser Forster

Photo: Action Images

Please report offensive, libellous or inappropriate posts by using the links provided.

AirFlorida added 10:18 - Oct 7
Forster's is like a bingo call :-D

SaintBrock added 19:10 - Oct 8
Same as is age? Just a reminder every match.

You need to login in order to post your comments

Blogs 31 bloggers

Letters from Wiltshire #09 by wessex_exile
Letters from Wiltshire #08 by wessex_exile
Lots of discussion this week on football forums, including here, on two subjects – the petition to lobby parliament to allow limited numbers of supporters back into football grounds, and of course the return of that old chestnut from Man City Chief Executive Ferran Soriano, introducing Premier League ‘B’ teams into the EFL. First off, I don’t mind admitting I’ve signed the petition ( https://petition.parliament.uk/petitions/552036 ), as have 192,779 others at the time of writing, though I don’t actually think it’ll make any difference. I can completely understand why some do not think this is a good idea, as second-wave spikes of coronavirus infection pop up all over the country (mainly because – let’s face it – some people are dicks and can’t be trusted to sit the right way on a toilet). But to me, the two go hand in hand (not dicks and toilets) – whilst football clubs throughout the country struggle financially without spectators, we are always going to be under threat of this sort of ‘B’ team nonsense as a condition of financial support from the Premier League fat cats. They got their way in 2016 with the EFL trophy, who’s to say they won’t again when the financial squeeze really starts to tighten its grip without paying customers through the turnstiles? Robbie has featured prominently in this debate in recent weeks, and looks like he will again on Sky tomorrow if this tweet from Sophy Ridge is anything to go by -
Letters from Wiltshire #07 by wessex_exile

Southampton Polls

About Us Contact Us Terms & Conditions Privacy Cookies Advertising
© FansNetwork 2020