Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Snow 36 years ago 21:28 - Jan 8 with 4048 viewsdickythorpe

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/uk-wales-42612677/archive-the-1982-snow-storm-that-
Snow 36 years ago on 21:35 - Jan 8 with 4016 viewsGowerjack

My Dad was stuck in work at Port Talbot for 4 days

Mrs Gowerjack remembers helicopters dropping supplies at Rhossili

Proper snow

Not like the shite we get nowadays

Plastic since 1974
Poll: Is ECB for tyranny?

Snow 36 years ago on 21:42 - Jan 8 with 3983 viewsDarran

Snow 36 years ago on 21:35 - Jan 8 by Gowerjack

My Dad was stuck in work at Port Talbot for 4 days

Mrs Gowerjack remembers helicopters dropping supplies at Rhossili

Proper snow

Not like the shite we get nowadays

I walked to Port Talbot steelworks from Baglan to be told there was no need for me to be in because I was an apprentice and I could go home.
Walked to Port Talbot town centre by lunch time and spent the day in the Old Vic.

The first ever recipient of a Planet Swans Lifetime Achievement Award.
Poll: Who’s got the most experts

Snow 36 years ago on 22:15 - Jan 8 with 3908 viewslifelong

The big freeze of the winter of 62/63 is one I will always remember, , rivers froze, huge amounts of snow fell and villages were cut off. It lasted for a couple of months and nothing has been seen like it since.
I can remember that you could walk along the river Tawe for miles, it was completely frozen, the sea front of Swansea bay froze. There were 30 foot snow drifts at the he top of the Swansea Valley, the snow didn’t clear from the mountains until June.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Winter_of_1962%E2%80%9363_in_the_United_Kingdom
Snow 36 years ago on 18:47 - Jan 9 with 3669 viewsJimmyGilligan

That's one of my earliest memories, although I would have placed it a few years later. There is a picture of me knee deep in it. Never seen anything like it since.