Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Plumbing advice needed. Non QPR 10:15 - Sep 15 with 1344 viewsDaBurgh

I probably should know this, but not sure, I'm getting conflicting advice. Our water consumption has doubled over the last 6 months, so checked out the meter and found that it is continuing to spin, very slightly, even when I turn off the stopcock into the house. This stopcock is located about 20 mètres from the meter so obviously a run of pipe under the house.
Now the conflicting advice I'm getting is that when I shut the valve for the incoming water on the water company's side of the meter, it stops spinning. Some friends tell me that's an indication of the problem being with the water company's pipes, but I'm not sure about that. Just FYI I live in France. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Cheers.
Plumbing advice needed. Non QPR on 10:24 - Sep 15 with 1298 viewsPunteR

I'm not an expert on this but I think you need le plombier.

Occasional providers of half decent House music.

Plumbing advice needed. Non QPR on 10:25 - Sep 15 with 1288 viewsDaBurgh

Plumbing advice needed. Non QPR on 10:24 - Sep 15 by PunteR

I'm not an expert on this but I think you need le plombier.

Ha, ben oui!
Plumbing advice needed. Non QPR on 11:13 - Sep 15 with 1199 viewsWokingR

In the UK, I think the water supply pipe becomes your responsibility once it crosses the boundary of your premises. Your leak is obviously between the water supply and your stopcock so may be worth speaking with your building insurer. In the UK your building insurer will give accidental damage cover on all mains services.
Sorry, don't know how much any of this applies to France though.
Plumbing advice needed. Non QPR on 11:23 - Sep 15 with 1169 viewsTomS