Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
The Brexit Washing Machine Thread 08:45 - Jul 9 with 63643 viewsBazzaInTheLoft

Where everyone has a opinion but no one changes their mind.

[Post edited 28 Jul 2018 0:00]
David Davis + Boris on 18:45 - Jul 16 with 2365 viewsQPR_John

David Davis + Boris on 13:55 - Jul 16 by R_from_afar

I'm not an expert on this but I think that what happens is that the import tax is added to the price the manufacturer charges. The manufacturer could choose to reduce their price so that the final price the customer pays is the same, but that would mean reduced margin for them. As I say, that is how I think it works, based on some experience managing prices for a company whose products were sold on all the continents and which were affected by some import/export taxes and other trading considerations.

I am sure there will be some of you on here who understand this better. than I do.

RFA (crawls back into foxhole, dons tin hat, arms claymores....)

"I'm not an expert on this but I think that what happens is that the import tax is added to the price the manufacturer charge"

But who imposes the import tax I assume from the name it is the country importing the goods. If we decide not to impose the tax there will be no tax
[Post edited 16 Jul 2018 18:46]
David Davis + Boris on 19:19 - Jul 16 with 2338 viewsQPR_Jim

David Davis + Boris on 14:12 - Jul 16 by essextaxiboy

I think remain would win that one as the other two would split the Brexit Vote .

Unless there is some devil in the detail that I am missing I would vote for the TM plan if it remained undiluted further .

If we dont leave this will not go away ,Farage will return to UKIP and get candidates out in every constituency for whenever the election comes . They will IMO get enough votes from both major parties (17 mill snubbed) to gain the balance of power . Their price for co operation ? You guessed it ..........